Saturday, October 4, 2008

Glen S. Hummer Award Winners

USA Swimming has awarded the Glen S. Hummer Award since 1978. The Award was named for an Olympian and coach and is presented to the person or group making the greatest contribution to open water swimming.

Award winners represents Hummer's attitude toward life and his dedication to the sport of open water swimming.

1978: Glen S. Hummer and and Cliff Brown
1979: Don Watson and Betty Talbot
1980: La Jolla Town Counsel and Swim Swim Magazine
1981: Neal and Sue Shepard
1982: Huntington Indiana YMCA Booster Club
1983: Buck Dawson
1984: Luke (Mac) Tesky
1985: Penny Lee Dean
1986: Dale Petranech
1987: Keith Barnes
1988: Dotty York
1989: George Haines
1990: Jimi Flowers
1991: Wilton YMCA Wahoos
1992: Rick Walker
1993: James Whelan
1994: Jennifer Parks and Gail Dummer
1995: International Swimming Hall of Fame
1996: Sid Cassidy
1997: Bob Duenkel
1998: Dianne Limerick
1999: Dave Thomas
2000: Brian Schrader
2001: George Bare and Jacque Grossman
2002: Denny Ryther
2003: Dr. Jim Miller
2004: Julie Bare
2005: Rick Walker, Steven Munatones, Denny Ryther, Mike Shrader, Catherine Vogt, Jeremy Vail and Dr. Jim Miller (2005 USA Swimming Open Water World Championship Team Staff)
2006: Gregg Cross
2007: Steven Munatones
2008: Bill Rose

Photo of Hummer from the Hummeralums blog.

No comments: