Sunday, August 24, 2008

International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame 2008 Class

The International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame welcomed 8 inductees to its 2008 class:

1. Stephane Lecat of France (swimmer)
2. Osama Ahmed Momtaz of Egypt (swimmer)
3. Edith van Dijk of the Netherlands (swimmer)
4. Vicko Soljan of Croatia (administrator)
5. David Whyte of Great Britain (pilot)
6. James Doty of the USA (swimmer and administrator)
7. Jerry Nason of the USA (newspaper editor)
8. Charles E. Silvia of the USA (coach and International Swimming Hall of Famer)

Stephane Lecat of France was the premier marathon swimmer in the late 1990's and early 2000's. He was the FINA World Cup Series champion in 1997, 1999 and 2000 and the 2000 European 25K champion and the 1997 Mediterranean 15K champion. He was the multi-time winner of the prestigious 32K Traversee Internationale du Lac St-Jean in 1996, 1999 and 2000 in Canada, the Rio Corondo Swim in 1996, 1997, 1999 and 2000 in Argentina, the 34K Traversee Internationale du Lac Memphremagog in 1995, 1996 and 2000 in Canada and the 37K Atlantic City Around-the-Island Marathon Swim in 2001 in New Jersey, U.S.A. He won 13 FINA World Cup races and consistently place well in the FINA World Swimming Championships, including a bronze medal in the 25K in 2001.

Photo of Stephane Lecat.

No comments: