Thursday, December 17, 2009

Busy Year For Professional Marathon Swimmers

FINA will post its 2010 FINA 10KM Marathon Swimming World Cup schedule and its 2010 FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix schedule later today on the FINA open water swimming website.

The schedule for the 2010 FINA 10KM Marathon Swimming World Cup circuit, won last year by Thomas Lurz and Poliana Okimoto, includes:

1. Santos, Brazil on January 31st
2. Viedma, Argentina on February 6th (Maraton Patagones Viedma)
3. Setubal, Portugal on June 26th
4. Lac St-Jean, Canada on July 25th (Traversee Internationale du Lac St-Jean)
5. Copenhagen, Denmark on August 28th
6. Hong Kong on October 3rd
7. Cancun, Mexico on October 9th
8. Sharjah, United Arab Emirates on October 23rd

The schedule for the 2010 FINA Open Water Swimming
Grand Prix circuit
, won last year by Petar Stoychev and Camilla Frediani, include:

1. 57K Maraton Acuatica Rio Coronda in Santa Fe, Argentina on January 31st
2. 88K Hernandarias-Parana in Argentina on February
3. 15K Sumidero Canyon Swimming Marathon in Mexico on April 17th
4. 36K Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli in Italy on June 20th
5. 32K Traversee Internationale du Lac St-Jean in Quebec, Canada on July 31st
6. Sabac Grand Prix in Serbia on August 1st
7. 34K Traversee Internationale du Lac Magog in Quebec, Canada on August 7th
8. Shantou Grand Prix in China on September 25th
9. 15K Dubai Grand Prix in United Arab Emirates on October 27th

Ten countries (Brazil, Argentina, Portugal, Canada, Denmark, Hong Kong, Mexico, United Arab Emirates, Italy and China) and hundreds of kilometers later, we will find out how will follow in the footsteps of Thomas, Poliana, Petar and Camilla.

In addition, the 6th FINA World Open Water Swimming Championships will take place in Lac St-Jean in Roberval, Canada between July 15th - 23rd.

Busy year ahead.

Copyright © 2009 by World Open Water Swimming Association

No comments: