Friday, February 20, 2009

Another Open Water Swimmer of the Year

Thomas Lurz, the bronze medalist in the Olympic 10K Marathon Swim, was selected as the Swimmer of the Year by the German Swimming Federation along with double Olympic gold medalist Britta Steffen.

Thomas, a nominee for the 2008 World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year, won FINA 10K Marathon Swimming World Cups in Mexico and Dubai and was runner-up in Setubal, Portugal. He was 2nd in the RCP Tiburon Mile, third in the Great North Swim, won the 5K world championship and a bronze medalist in the world championship 10K, and won the 10K and two bronze medals in the 5K and 5K team trial at the European Open Water Swimming Championships.

Photo by Giorgio Scalia at the 2008 European Open Water Swimming Championships.

No comments: