Friday, November 28, 2008

Another Honor for the Olympic 10K Gold Medalists

Larisa Ilchenko and Maarten van der Weijden were selected as the 2008 European Open Water Swimmers of the Year by the European Swimming Federation. Representatives of European national swimming federations and media members voted for the awards, which were announced in LEN Magazine.

Maarten van der Weijden and Larisa, both the Olympic 10K Marathon Swim gold medalists, were named earlier by Swimming World Magazine as the World Open Water Swimmers of the Year.

Larisa is a nominee for the 2008 World Open Water Swimming Woman of the Year. Maarten is a nominee for the World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year.

Photos by Pei Qingsheng at the Beijing Olympics.

No comments: