Friday, July 24, 2009

Open Water Friends In High Places

On July 24, FINA held its General Congress in Rome during the 2009 World Swimming Championships. A global election was held among its 201 member federations and Dr. Julio Maglione of Uruguay was elected president. Paola Barelli of Italy was elected as Honorary Secretary and Pipat Paniangvait of Thailand was elected as Honorary Treasurer.

The five FINA Vice Presidents include Sam Ramsamy of South Africa, Dale Neuburger of the USA, Hironoshin Furuhashi of Japan, Nory Kruchten of Luxembourg and Bill Matson of New Zealand.

Among the 14 FINA Bureau members, we know of three members who are very knowledgeable and strong supporters of open water swimming: Coaracy Nunes Filho of Brazil, Paulo Frischknecht of Portugal and Dennis Miller of Fiji (shown above). Like the rest of their FINA colleagues, these gentlemen have spent decades in the sport working, leading and volunteering in a variety of roles with a multitude of responsibilities.

No comments: